I don’t know if I told you this but I want to write a book quite soon… I don’t have my ideas sufficiently straight right now but it’s gonna happen.

However, I am in the “scanning the market” process. That means I’m looking at what other people are saying about other self help books that have been written…

And for every book you will always find positive, mediocre, and negative reviews of course. The first lesson from this is that you will not please everybody. 

A second thing that is very interesting and that I have read quite a few times is this “I didn’t find my life had changed when I’d finished the book…”

But it gets worse “I can’t believe I paid $8 for this book and my life still hasn’t changed…”

Yes, they do actually write that seriously. Naturally, that inspired me a few pearls of wisdom. The people who think $8 is a great investment obviously don’t have their priorities straight. If they stay in that mindset, they will never achieve anything…

And it’s not about being broke vs being loaded either. $8 is what a lot of people spend at Starbucks on a regular basis. If swapping Starbucks or whatever else for a book in which you can learn just ONE valuable lesson is a turnoff, I don’t know what to tell you…

A second thing is, nobody’s life is changed by reading a book. Of all the books I’ve read, many have influenced me and shaped me, but not because I had read them…

I either applied the lessons, or retaught them, reframed them in my own way so that others could benefit. You have to do something with what you read.

That’s where my last pearl of wisdom comes… The most valuable books, those that really speak to you will be unique to you. You want to read these books several times. You remember the concept of depth vs width? It’s one of these cases.

Most self help books repeat what other self help books have said before. That’s why it’s taking me time to find the right ideas for mine by the way. I don’t want my book to be a repeat of what I’ve read before. Rather than “looking for the solution” in countless books, choose a couple of books you can read several times.

Every time I’ve read a book more than once, I got new insights and things I had forgotten about. And on the plus side, you won’t have to “reinvest” your Starbucks…

Think about all of the other possibilities open to you now that you’ve saved these $8…

Speaking about saving money and investing in yourself, I happen to be giving a completely FREE of charge webinar that can teach you how to produce daily content that relates to your audience without having it feel like a grind. It will help you overcome the dreaded writer’s block and gain a ton of time.

 

You can sign up for it below:

https://anthonydexmier.webinarninja.co/my/wnwebinarlist/index?webinar_id=42822

 

Keep rocking,

 

Anthony.